The Bond Free Man


bond-free-man

Why does my heart love you,

And then wish it was independent of you?

Why does your will bring pain?

And then fulfilling it joy and gain?

Why does my strength fail,

And my hands grow pale

When I realise I’m far from you?

Why must I be close to you?

Are you for real? Sometimes I ask

Is believing in you such a great task?

I try to wish you did not exist

So I would be free from you at least

You should have just made me your servant

Or better still left me totally free from your command

But you have made me more than just a servant

And yet I must do all your bidding and command

I once was free and bond and damned

But now I’m free and bond but saved

You gave me life by taking my life

Now I have a life that isn’t mine

Picture Credit: https://ask.naij.com

Leave a Reply

